EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 33, SERIES OF 2021

AN ORDER CREATING THE SORSOGON CITY DEVOLUTION TRANSITION COMMITTEE, DESIGNATING ITS MEMBERS AND DESCRIBING THEIR FUNCTIONS

- WHEREAS, Section 6, Article X of the 1987 Philippine Constitution provides that local government units shall have a just share, as determined by law, in the national government taxes which shall be automatically released to them;
- WHEREAS, Republic 7160 otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991 declares that it is a policy of State to provide for a more responsive and accountable local government structure instituted through a system of decentralization whereby local government units shall be given more powers, authority, responsibilities and resources; and that the process of decentralization shall proceed from the National Government to the LGUs;
- WHEREAS, the Supreme Court, in the Mandanas Doctrine upheld in 2019, ruled that all collections of national taxes, except those accruing to special purpose funds and special allotments for the utilization and development of the national wealth, should be included in the computation of the base of the just share of LGUS;
- WHEREAS, Executive Order 138, Series of 2021 asserts that the national government is fully committed to the policy of devolution enshrined in the Constitution and relevant laws, which are aimed at developing capabilities of LGUs to deliver basic social services and critical facilities to their constituents, increase productivity and employment and promote local economic growth; and ensuring accountability, competence, professionalism and transparency of local leaders through the development of institutional systems that uphold good governance and strengthen their capacities for managing public resources;
- WHEREAS, the same EO directs LGUs to formulate and pursue an institutional development program to support the LGU in order to strengthen their capacities and capabilities to fully assume the devolved functions based on RA 7160 and other relevant laws;
- **WHEREAS**, there is a need for a special body that will facilitate the full devolution of certain functions of the national government to LGUs;
- NOW THEREFORE, I, MA. ESTER E. HAMOR, Mayor of Sorsogon City, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, hereby order the creation of the Sorsogon City Devolution Transition Committee which shall be responsible for the preparation of the LGU Devolution Transition Plan, as follows:
- Section 1. CREATION OF THE SORSOGON CITY DEVOLUTION TRANSITION COMMITTEE.

 Pursuant to the objectives of the Committee on Devolution as prescribed under EO 138-2021, the Sorsogon City Devolution Transition Committee (DTC) is hereby created with the following general tasks:
 - 1. Prepare the Sorsogon City Development Transition Plan (DTP) and ensure that it is approved within the prescribed timeframe;
 - 2. Monitor the implementation of the DTP following its approval by the *Sangguniang Panlungsod*;

3. Submit the approved DTP within the timelines prescribed by the Department of the Interior and Local Government and the Department of Budget and Management

Section 2. COMPOSITION. The Sorsogon City Development Transition Committee shall be composed of the following:

Chairperson HON, MA. ESTER E. HAMOR

City Mayor

Vice-Chairperson ENGR. ORLANDO F. HUENDA

City Planning & Development Officer

Members ATTY. MARK GERALD D. GUIRINDOLA

City Administrator

HON. NESTOR J. BALDON City Councilor/Chairperson SP Committee on Finance

HON, MA. TERESA D. PERDIGON

City Councilor/President Liga ng mga Barangay

MAGDALENA D. PALADIN

City Treasurer

JINKY E. AQUINOCity Budget Officer

CHRISTINE N. MERALPES

City Accountant

REISSA L. GAMOSPlanning Officer III

City Planning Development Office

MERIAM DUKA CSO Representative

Section 3. EFFECTIVITY. This Order shall take effect immediately.

DONE this 3rd day of August 2021 at Sorsogon City, Philippines.

MA. ESTER E. HAMOR

City Mayor